Designing business cards

I’ve been looking into various ways as using art in advertisiting for my Negotiated Studio work, mostly relating to car park barriers and tickets, but it has inspired me in a way to use the advertisement method of creating business cards to advertise my work. Initially you’d think it would be the easiest part of your business, but then you realise that, apart from the work itself, the business card is what draws someone in to make that call and want to keep that small fraction of your work for possible future use. You have to think about who you’re attempting to draw in with the card- for me, I’d like those who are into geometrical forms of art to be interested in my cards the most since that is the work I have been enjoying creating more recently. I made some drawings on my IPad- simple collections of triangles that could possibly be suited to a business card layout as well as cropping drawings I’d made using pen or paint. Another thing to consider would be the cost of creating business cards as well as the quantity along side that. The university apparently has a facility that creates business cards at a discounted price for students, but the price is significantly higher for colour rather than black and white- considering a lot of my work of late has been monochrome, I came to the conclusion that there would be more benefits to keeping it black and white to cut costs and still have eye catching advertisement.


The above shows two versions of one drawing I made; one having a clouded background to look less straightforward, the other bold on its own. I thought it was important to test out different versions of the same sort of piece in case there was something that I could add that would improve on the visuals. In this case, I felt that the triangles being different shades was enough variation to still be eye-catching. I then used a website called vista print to see what the design would look like in the template of a business card, which is a feature of the website.


I picked out a simple template that would include my name, email and website address (not requiring a back template as the contact details are all I require displayed) sectioned at the bottom of the card under an image of my design. I liked the central positioning and the design itself, but wasn’t certain of it. I tried using one of my favourite images of a close up of the triangles on a box I had made:


I felt that this version was much more appealing to the eye, truly capturing the geometric chaos I have brought to my style of recent working. I will be printing 100 business cards to display with my work at the degree show exhibition, which I know won’t have people guessing if they have the right card for a certain piece, as the design is fluent throughout the work that will be there. 

Leave a Reply

